>>>  Home   User-Center   Board
     
 
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Webhosting Forum » Everything » Free >1MB file host
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ven
Moderator


Joined: 10 Dec 2004
Posts: 2064
Location: USA

PostPosted: 11.01.05 01:58    Post subject: Free >1MB file host Reply with quote
A huge thanks to bami for pointing this very interesting file host: http://advanced-microtechnologies.com/

Apparently their file size limit is 10MB, so if anyone has anything to store that is >1MB (which is not allowed at Funpic) then you can just upload that file to the above website and link to it from your Funpic account!

NOTE: I have not personally tried the service, so I make no guarantees of any kind Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
berknet
Guest





PostPosted: 11.01.05 20:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nice, on the funpic board make spam for a other webhoster Sad..
Back to top
bami
Fun-Spammer


Joined: 02 Jan 2005
Posts: 427
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: 11.01.05 22:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
its not spam, its a advicement
if u got bigger files then 1 mb, host em there, that will make it perfect!
its like a extension to your website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ven
Moderator


Joined: 10 Dec 2004
Posts: 2064
Location: USA

PostPosted: 12.01.05 00:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you'll notice, berknet, the title says "file host," not web host. They cannot host web pages, PHP, or MySQL databases. And if you read my post, you would see that I suggest linking to those files from Funpic accounts, which is allowed and I remember eZtreme suggesting that, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
berknet
Guest





PostPosted: 12.01.05 20:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
ven wrote:
If you'll notice, berknet, the title says "file host," not web host. They cannot host web pages, PHP, or MySQL databases. And if you read my post, you would see that I suggest linking to those files from Funpic accounts, which is allowed and I remember eZtreme suggesting that, too.

You're right Razz..

and at the other poster, advertice, I [s]can't[/s] couldn't remember that word Embarassed Razz..
Back to top
eZtreme
Moderator


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 521
Location: irc.quakenet.org #funpic

PostPosted: 13.01.05 02:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes, we recommend that you put your download files on a "file host", because those files are not allowed on funpic Wink
_________________
FIREFOX
Anti IE ...trying to stop the Internet Explorer
Anti IE banners for _your_ forum signature!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
retro
Fun-Kleinkind


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 11
Location: Pangea

PostPosted: 13.01.05 03:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
A huge thanks to bami for pointing this very interesting file host: http://advanced-microtechnologies.com/

While checking out this file host, AVG popped up a virus warning.
I enclosed a pic of it here:http://retro.re.funpic.org/virus.gif.

Does anyone know what this is? Or did anyone else get a similar warning?


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eZtreme
Moderator


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 521
Location: irc.quakenet.org #funpic

PostPosted: 13.01.05 03:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
sounds like a fake to me Wink
_________________
FIREFOX
Anti IE ...trying to stop the Internet Explorer
Anti IE banners for _your_ forum signature!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ven
Moderator


Joined: 10 Dec 2004
Posts: 2064
Location: USA

PostPosted: 13.01.05 04:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
AVG's info site for that is here: http://www.grisoft.com/virbase/virbase.php?qvirus_name=java%2Fbyteverify&action=search&lng=us&type=web

However, I'm running Symantec Anti-Virus Corporate (the excellent Norton engine, without the bloated new Norton interface) and it's not detecting anything bad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bami
Fun-Spammer


Joined: 02 Jan 2005
Posts: 427
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: 13.01.05 14:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
it uploads files, and so it works with files
what does that javascript do? work with files!

beleave me, the host is perfectly safe, im a member of the gamemaker community, and a lot of people use it (it had some security difficulties earlier, you could upload pr0n to replace someones signature image or something), but its all solved out now info

im running Norman Anti-virus and it doesnt detect stuff

and ive had LOTS of false alarms from AVG, so thats probably also a false
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Webhosting Forum » Everything Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Impressum Datenschutz